Sunday, September 3, 2017

Awaken the Shadowman


Director -  J.S. Wilson
Stars: James Zimbardi, Skylar Caleb, Jean Smart

Drama/Horror/Mystery

2.5/5


"Creepy"
Charred Remains Reviews



"Are you one of them?"

My Redbox find this week Awaken the Shadowman directed by J.S. Wilson and starring Jean Smart was snatched up quickly by my horror loving hand. I'm a little on the fence with my feelings toward the story as I was expecting more and came away with less, however I enjoyed certain elements of the film.

The story is about a missing Californian mother and the reuniting of estranged brothers Jay (Skylar Caleb) and Adam Morris (James Zimbardi). The brothers come together in hopes of finding their mother Evette (Jean Smart). What Adam finds is more questions than answers and is led on a creepy trail of odd behavior and brainwashed oddities. 

Adam brings his wife Beth (Emily Somers) and young daughter Emma to his brother Jay and sister-in-law Christy's (Andrea Hunt) home and are greeted by several members of their mother's bereavement group. One of the members a woman named Glenda (Casey Kramer) claims to be Evette's best friend. She offers her help to the boys. 

Another member leaves his mark upon introduction to Adam, young Lawrence, He appears innocent but his demeanor is off to Adam. Others come forward for introductions and their interest seems more attuned to Adam's young daughter Emma. 

With each moment of this film the direction is one of crumbs for Adam and the viewer. Beth's first night in Jay's house shows a strange sleep-walking segment that leads to a glimpse of the Shadow Man. However, my first indication that something was off rested solely with Emma and her fussiness. The viewer will notice her crying around certain people and definitely while in the foreign presence of the Shadowman. Children are sensitive to things and she is clearly disturbed by her uncle's home and friends.  I didn't need the sleepwalking mom clue, but it adds to the mystery building surrounding Evette's disappearance and the events of a fire that affected everyone in the Gateway Bereavement Group. 

The longer I watched this film more subtle and not so subtle clues are dropped as to the true nature of what's going on. Instead of being a show-less-tells of story, the viewer gets more telling and filling in the blanks with a fail of showing. I like a good mystery, but this one was too easy to figure out and before the middle of the film; I had it nailed down to what was going on and at the big gathering at the end...I was correct and little disappointed.

When you hear characters drop key word like "sacrifice" and you have a group of seemingly brainwashed followers it's not hard to put two and two together and get a cult. Their leader has a strong resemblance to another young red haired cult character "Malachi" from "Children of the Corn" which is one of my favorite Stephen King films.  In this film and much like "Children of the Corn" this young leader Lawrence (Raam Weinfield) oozes with creepy charm and quickly gets under the viewer's skin. My problem with Lawrence there wasn't enough of him in the scenes, but when he was in them...made my skin crawl. He was one creepy dude.

Another character emerged to warn Adam of the nature of Lawrence and in the woods later she shares her thoughts on the Gateway group and Lawrence that sent Adam racing back to her brother's looking for his wife and most importantly his daughter. What he finds set the ending for the mystery and showed this viewer that Jean Smart plays crazy very well. I would recommend this film, but I'll give you fair warning the acting is less than stellar in certain actors, but in the moments that Jean Smart is visible she gives a convincing show with a loving dose of crazy. 

As for the other actors, JamesZimbardi I recognized from a couple of soap operas and his acting was above par, but the others came across as wooden, hollow and forgettable. 

Fans of cult type movies may enjoy Awaken the Shadowman...I did. The film alludes to what's going to happen and when the "sacrifice" happens there is no blood. It's rare to watch a horror themed film without bloody scenes. There's a scene where the charred remains of someone is sitting on the floor like a memorial, but one does not see the melting of the body. Fans who like gory bloody scenes will most likely not enjoy this film. 

Fans of mediocre mysteries...you might enjoy following the clues. I would be interested to hear your thoughts on the film should you take up the case of  Awakening the Shadowman

It's available at Red Box, Amazon and Google Play . 

Check out more info on the Facebook page for the film.

Check out more trailers from Gravitas Ventures on youtube.

Key words: #cult #horror #gravitasventures #sacrifice 


Sunday, July 2, 2017

Gremlin



Director: Ryan Bellgardt
Horror 
VOD July 11, 2017

3 Out of 5 

"Gremlin...passes the cursed box to a loved one, when you care to send the very best of madness, blood and death. It's a freaking horror Hallmark!
Charred Remains Reviews

Adam and Julie Thatcher along with teenage daughter Anna and young son Charlie moves in with Julie's grandmother after the death of their son Henry. One afternoon just before dinner, Julie's uncle arrives with a package for his mother. It's a box that he tells his mother to pass it on to someone she loves. She asked if it was a game and Jim who is desperate to get rid of the box confirmed it was a game and one that she must get rid of before the timer goes off. 

Inside her house is a tightly wound family grieving the loss of their son and with this "gift" their lives become such a mess that this viewer felt sorry for them early on in the film. Sitting at the head of the table is Adam an architect who is cheating on his wife, Julie a mother trying to keep it all together and Charlie who has issues since the death of his brother. In walks Grandmother with a box. She relays the information that her son gave her and promptly gives the box to Adam. So begins the nightmare for the Thatchers.

Later that evening while all were in bed, (minus teenager Anna who was out with boyfriend) the box opens and out comes the creature that lives inside it. Charlie hears a noise and goes in search of the sound and opens the door to his grandmother's room to see the creature stabbing her. He screams. The police arrive and Adam and Julie are asked many questions. As the detective is about to leave Charlie speaks up saying the creature in the box came out and killed his grandmother. The ramblings of a disturbed child go unheeded. 

Throughout the movie one by one loved ones are picked off and it becomes a deadly game to stay ahead of the creature who is hell bent on killing all the loved ones of the Thatcher family. 

My thoughts...

"Gremlin is like a horror Hallmark gift...which simply says, I'm sorry, I love you to death."

I had misgivings right at the start when you see the creature in opening scene with Uncle Henry. I really do not like to see the "monster" at the beginning of a film. I like to be teased and shown very little and then...BAM bring out the full monster! Gremlin didn't do that and for me it was a mark against the film. Starting the beginning with a negative quickly faded away as I sat back and watched the story. 

A family dealing with grief, adultery and teenager growing pains is more than enough to deal without the added creature that was bestowed upon them innocently by a kind grandmother. As the story unfolded, I watched in horror as victims began to pile up and the true horror was the way Adam Thatcher dealt with things. Scary. Someone is killed in his home on the heels of Julie's grandmother and what does he do? Call the cops? NO, he puts the body in the basement, thus building suspicion in my mind of what truly happened to his deceased son. Hmmm, I wasn't alone in wondering, the police started putting pieces together and later when they arrived chaos was running amok and they were in for the shock of their lives...Charlie's monster was running loose in the front yard. I loved that scene. 

An hour into the story an explanation is given and it's a cool one. At first, I thought it was going to be left to the imagination of the viewer, but it was given by a gypsy friend of one of the detectives. A gypsy...gotta love it. 

My gripes for this film are not much other than the opening scene showing the creature too soon. The other is when Adam tried to destroy the box. He threw it in a lake and came home to the box. Crazy right? Funny. He tried a mallet, a saw and then he lights a match and throws it in garbage can. He goes back into the house moments later and there's the box...without one scar after all the hard work of trying to destroy it. Look, if a mallet or saw can't destroy a metal cursed box, what makes the writer think fire will? 

Gremlin is a Horror Hallmark and one that was fun to watch. Far from the Gremlins from the 80's, there's nothing cute about this creature...he's after one thing blood of your loved ones. I recommend it for a fun watch. It comes out on VOD July 11, 2017. Give it a chance. Fans of puppeteers and creature features, may enjoy this film. I did.



Gremlin Trailer


Friday, June 9, 2017

Shattered




Short film by Mikel D. Ledesma
Cinematographer Anthony Gutierrez

Suspense
4 Out of 5

 "SHATTERED" is powerful and heart-breaking. 

The subject matter for this short film is a familiar story heard and seen in the news far too frequently. A young girl goes missing and the tragedy unfolds via the media. Suspects are rounded up and some are arrested, a court date set and the family of the missing/murdered are dragged through the media circus and the end result is tied up in a neat bow and discarded. But what happens, when the suspect is cleared and released? The sensationalizing of the story begins to wane and interest is lost. 

I got news for you, the hurt, confusion; rage of the families of these missing/murdered children doesn't stop when the story wanes. Their pain is forever and all a grieving parent wants to know is "Why?"

In Shattered Mikel D. Ledesma has a grieving mother of a murdered child and she has not stopped hurting and questioning what happened to her little girl. In this story, this mother is pissed. She is so angry that she takes justice into her own vengeful hands and what happens over the course of this twenty minute short film will blow your mind

Some time ago, I was approached by the cinematographer Anthony Gutierrez to take an early look at "Shattered" and I saw potential for a fan favorite on the festival circuits. A few minor things stuck out to my watchful eye, but in a macabre fashion I enjoyed the story. Meaning I enjoyed the make-up of the story and the actions made throughout by the actress Scarlette Martin who portrayed "Rose Sterling" the grieving mother of "Lily Sterling" (Julianna Ochoa) who was taken from outside her home and murdered.

As the viewer, I saw more than the film showed, I FELT Rose's deep hurt over the loss of her beloved and cherished daughter. This film reached out and touched me at my maternal core. In feeling the emotional battle this woman was facing, she brought it home to me. I cried and continued to cry throughout the film and when her hurt and confusion turned to a blind rage, I felt that sense of rawness that she was feeling. She wanted answers and when the police released the man they believed responsible, I could see as well as feel an encompassing rage and thirst for revenge. 

The child who played "Lily Sterling" was Julianna Ochoa. She broke my heart. In the beginning, she is seen riding her scooter and all the sweetness and innocence of this single happy act is taken in an instant and sullied by a sick faceless person. Her sweet face transforms from sweet and carefree to blooded and still. In the final moments of her life, she is seen and in one gut wrenching sound, the viewer hears as well as sees that "Lily" was aware and feeling everything. This scene was so powerful, I had to push the pause button and I sobbed at the loss of her character's life. 

Matthew Roy portrayed "Tom Collins" the man released by police and found not guilty of "Lily's" death. However, he is targeted by the grief stricken "Rose" and the story takes a turn for a sadistic torture of a man believed by "Lily's" mother to be guilty of her daughter's murder. The taking of "Tom Collins" elicited a smirk and grin from this reviewer. During "Rose's" interrogation/torture of Tom, I admit to enjoying her candor and passion. 

The conclusion of this story will blow your mind. I am confident "Shattered" will do very well on the festival circuit especially with women who are mothers and grandmothers. They will connect to "Rose" and "Lily" on a very emotional scale. Men will cringe and I imagine, quite a few will shrink in their seats at one particular tortuous scene. The scene is unforgettable and I was hard pressed not to smile with a hint of an evil grin...forget it...I smiled. 

The ending was a twist of fate that caused more tears to fall for the characters involved. This is the type of film that anyone seeing it should have tissues handy. I would be so bold as to suggest the handing out of tissues at the door for festival goers upon entering the room to see "Shattered". It would be a good marketing tool and by the end of the film, those tissues would be wet with tears.

"Shattered" is a gut-wrenching tearjerker that stays true to its character's anguish and rage. This look is the part of the story that gets noticed in the news once the original story wanes. As I stated above, the conclusion will blow your mind. 

"Shattered" is not my first film where Anthony Gutierrez is the cinematographer, I have been a fan of his work for a few years. The last few films I have seen were from director Spencer Gray's short film, "Snake with a Human Tail" and new director Billy Pon's feature film, "Circus of the Dead". One of my early short films I reviewed was director Casey Crow's "Klagger" and I really enjoyed getting "Klaggered"!

I believe "Klagger" was the first film in which I discovered Anthony's work and I have been a fan ever since.  With each new film he does, I see growth and perfection. He is a true professional with an extremely talented eye. Look for the October 2014 release of Lionsgate "Devil's Deal" in which Anthony was the cinematographer. The film was directed by Justin Mosley and Allen Reed.

After having viewed this short film, writer/director Mikel D. Ledesma now has my attention. I would like to see more of your work in the future. What I have seen in this short film is a clear vision of a long career ahead for you in the film industry. I'm interested...give me some more. 

To all the actors involved with this short film, take a bow. Scarlette Martin, Julianna Ochoa and Matthew Roy as the key characters in this story, each of you had the power to reach out and pull me into dark places and for that you deserve to take an additional bow. These three actors broke my heart on many levels and when the final scene took place, I jumped out of my skin. Thank you for a job well done. Bravo!

Should any festival out there be looking for a taut, dark revenge filled film written by a man whose female character has the magical and pain-filled touch to make his audience cry and cringe, this is the film. I urge you to contact Mikel D. Ledesma and get it in your film festival. "SHATTERED" is powerful and heart-breaking. 



Monday, May 22, 2017

House on Willow Street



Director - Alastair Orr
Stars: Carlyn Burchell, Sharni Vinson, Zino Ventura

Horror

3 Out of 5

"An impressive finish to a slow burn. Typical clich├ęs got swept away with gory good FX and a strong finish by actresses Carlyn Burchell and Sharni Vinson. I enjoyed the middle to end."


Four would-be kidnappers plan the taking of a diamond dealer's daughter to ransom. Their careful planning lead to the house on Willow Street and upon entering the dark home, the four adults see various strange symbols that are the first clue to the viewer that all is not well within the house on Willow Street.  Katherine is secreted away and taken to an unknown location and chained to a chair. 



Hazel (Sharni Vinson/You're Next) commented that it looked like they had rescued Katherine from the house, which is the second clue. Katherine begs the kidnappers to "save yourselves" and "release me" they typical rote of any victim; however the kidnappers should have heeded the warning and released her.


The kidnappers videoed their victim and wished to send to her father, unfortunately problems arise. The parents of Katherine could not be reached. They ring all their numbers and it became evident that something was amiss and two of the kidnappers returned to the house. After one scary encounter the two men return with a tape that reveals the horrors surrounding the reputation of the Willow Street house and gives further insight to the woman they have chained. She harbored a secret that will affect each of them. 



Fans of demons and exorcisms may like this film. I was unsure of what I was getting myself into and the first part of the film was slow and I was left caring little for the characters and wishing them all a fast death for the boredom that I felt as I struggled to stay awake. Once the tape was introduced to the kidnappers, ghosts appeared and a demon made his presence felt and seen. I sat up straighter in my chair and took notice and for the second half of the film. 

I did come to care, but not for the kidnappers...for the demon possessed Katherine! She was the true star of this story. Her transformation from scared victim to a powerful entity was breathtaking. The gory effects were very entertaining and the best part of the demon was the barbed snake-like tongue that seemed to have no end, when it exited Katherine's mouth. WICKED! The strongest of characters were Katherine (Carlyn Burchell/12 Monkeys, Lizzie Borden Chronicles) and Hazel (Sharni Vinson). 

Sacrifices were made and Hazel was left to face the demon known as the "Devourer of Tormented Souls". The ending was explosive! I would recommend this film, however it is a one-time watch for me. I wouldn't look for it on DVD or Blu-ray, perhaps Red Box or as an Amazon rental. 




Monday, April 3, 2017

31


Director - Rob Zombie
Starring: Malcolm McDowell, Richard Brake, Meg Foster

Horror - Thriller

1.75 Out of 5


"WTF!!! 
It's like Rob swallowed all his movies and vomited "31" onto his audience. I have not been this disappointed in him since his second Halloween."
Char/Charred Remains

The latest from Rob Zombie has the Charred One scratching her head. What the fuck did I just watch? It's like Rob took all his movies and vomited "31" onto his audience. I have not been this disappointed in him since Halloween 2. 

One either likes Rob Zombie films or they hate them. In the past I have been a fan and even with the bizarro film The Lords of Salem, I held firm to my belief that he was worth watching, but with new film, I have serious doubts about what direction he was aiming for with 31. It fell flat after the opening scene with Doom-Head (Richard Brake) which held so much promise for a gruesome story.

In this story a band of carnies run into trouble in a small town October 31, 1976. They are kidnapped and forced to play a game called 31 of which the objective was to survive 12 hours in a maze of horrors dreamed up by the game-makers. 

Zombie is known for his heavier metal music but to horror fans he is the go-to for depraved gory splatter flicks that have given fans hits such as his directorial debut, House of 1000 Corpses and fan favorite (sequel) The Devil's Rejects which lead to more horrors including his re-imagined film based upon the classic horror film, Halloween

Through them all I sat on the edge of my seat and watched as his psychotic characters transferred from words written in a script to a screen bathed in blood. Depravity knew no boundaries where Zombie's stories were concerned. His work became my guilty pleasure and with each one I waited patiently for the next. I was thrilled to see 31 on DVD and snatched it up for a weekend viewing. However, once I popped it into my player...I sat in horror as I fought to stay awake to finish the entire film. It was a struggle and one that ended in a sound sleep. 

I slept through the screams, blood-shed, the sound of chainsaws and the ticking off the clock while the victims’ time grew shorter as they fought for survival. I slept through it all! For this review I forced myself to watch it again and the lacked heart. I am sorry to report there was no soul to this film. It was real "snooze-fest". It's like Zombie swallowed all of his films and vomited 31 on his audience. I was watching a culmination of all his work and other horror films came to mind such as Saw, Kill and Circus of the Dead.

In each of the films listed above it is a game of survival. The victim/player is forced to make decisions that will affect either their own life or the lives of others. Odds were placed on the five players of 31; the odds that I was going to love this film or even like it are slim. I had three likes one being the gory blood scenes, Doom-Head as the opening and closer to the story and the soundtrack.

Doom-Head he just oozed a maniacal psycho with the face of a clown. In his opening scene he explains to a priest that he was not a clown, but he had a clown face (looked like Captain Spaulding from House of 1000 Corpses) and moments later he is swinging his ax and the blood spatter mixed with the wet squelching sounds as the ax struck flesh had me giddy with anticipation. That lasted a few minutes and never returned. 

Sherri Moon Zombie is once again a character in her husband's film. She brings nothing to the film but a tired look and boring performance that had me begging the killers to find her and end the madness of watching her lethargic brand of acting.

Other familiar faces Meg Foster, Malcolm McDowell, Lew Temple did little to make the film interesting and became background dressings for a film that was doomed after the first five minutes.

Instead of total decimation of this film, I'll answer an important question. Would I recommend seeing this film? No. It's not worth the time or the $12.96 plus tax that I invested in it. It's a pass for me. However this is just my opinion. Be your own judge and if you want to take a chance on 31, by all means you take a chance on it, but I would recommend renting it from Red Box, Amazon etc., before shelling out the dough for it on DVD/BluRay. 

Sunday, February 26, 2017

Amethyst

Frolic Pictures




New Psychedelic Horror Adventure 'Amethyst' premieres on Amazon Prime
The most shocking silent horror film since Nosferatu. Amethyst, written and directed by psycho-sensationalist, Jared Masters (Slink, Ballet of Blood). Shot in 4-K resolution, in a secret garden, this highly anticipated feature film is now available to watch free with an Amazon Prime subscription, or rent or download to own (DVD coming soon). This phenomenal picture was the Semi-Finalist this year at the Los Angeles CineFest and Winner at the UHD 4K Film Festival, in South Korea, where it will be broadcasted on local television (SkyTV). 


Trapped in a trip. The incredible true story of Amethyst, the girl who accidentally consumed a full vial of LSD, on her 17th birthday, and inevitably begins losing her mind. Follow along, as this profound psychedelic adventure unfolds.


She took too much.

Will she ever return to this side of reality again? Will her best friend, Ember, who gave her the gift, find her, in time?


One drop is enough.

Consumed by a kaleidoscope of wonder, Amethyst discovers a whole new existence above ours, inhabited by female vampires, piccolo-playing eunuchs, romantic noblemen, river nymphs, mystical floating orbs, and a giant stone pyramid that may be her portal home.


A fragile mind in a delicate body.

What critics are saying…

“…heavy on style and trippy nuance, AMETHYST is one LSD trip appreciators of art house horror will definitely want to check out. In this dialog-less experimental film, a pair of women take some LSD and go on a sometimes beautiful/sometimes haunting trek across a mansion grounds, a countryside, along a river, and through a cemetery. Writer/director Jared Masters gives these two damsels room to explore the locale and come in contact with some pretty trippy things along this fantastical journey. AMETHYST is a psychedelic little pill worth popping.”
– Ain’t It Cool News

"I don't think I've seen a worse film...just a bore."
Randibee IMDB User Review
   
"I am sure there were a lot a symbolism and metaphors I didn't get, but the film wasn't worth thinking about. Grace Kilch is in nearly ever scene. It is like watching somebody else's acid trip...oh it is."
The Movie Guy Amazon Prime Review





Yeah, Yeah, Yeah...


NOW here's what I have to say about AMETHYST...

Director - Jared Masters
Starring: Grace Klich, Valerie Miller, Derrick Biedenback, Olivia Yohai, Jared Masters and Vincent Joel

Adventure - Fantasy - Horror
Left to Right: Grace Klich "Amethyst and Valerie Miller "Ember"




A young woman named Amethyst is given a gift on her seventeenth birthday from friend, Ember. Inside the box is tiny bottle with a stopper. Amethyst glances briefly at the card but not reading it fully before she opens the bottle and drinks the entire bottle. It is only then that she sees at the bottom of her card a "PS. Just one drop". 

OOPS...

Amethyst begins to stroll the grounds of a nice estate (movie was filmed in Virginia) complete with lush gardens and Koi fish pond. As she strolls, the contents of the bottle begin to explode in her blood stream and she exhibits one in the beginning of a psychedelic trip. 

The friend who gifted the liquid soon arrives behind her at the house and sees the emptied bottle and grows concerned for her friend and traces the steps Amethyst has taken. It takes some time but the two meet up and from there the trip begins to look like an explorative of touch and sound as the drug continues to course through Amethyst's body.  The women dance and frolic and at one point Amethyst is drawn away by a mysterious man described as the Eunuch Bridgekeeper (Derrick Biedenback). His presence is whimsical and odd. 

Her journey leads to an interlude in the meadow where bread and wine turn deadly, to a cemetery where a day walker takes a bite and drinks her blood to an erotic moment with Ember with a chalice of blood. The trip culminates with a dip with a water nymph and leads...well maybe you should just experience for yourself!

My thoughts on the film...

Before I go any further...this is not a film for the general horror audience. If you read my review and go out and purchase, rent or watch on your Amazon Prime account and then come back and blast me, you were forewarned. However, this film is may appeal to the Art House lover. Look deeper and you may enjoy this film on the merits of the art that was created by the artist.

What is "Art House" according to Google...An art house film is typically independently-produced, outside of the major film studio system. Major studios are reluctant to pour money into projects which are unlikely to return a profit due to the limited – often niche market – appeal of the material. 

What is Art House to me? I see all Indie films as the definition above implies, however there are those filmmakers that take it to the next level. They incorporate artistic measures that may seem to overwhelm the general audience or even bore them, but the filmmaker is striving to add diversity. They are attempting to transform from a script of words into images with hopes that it works well and sometimes not in hopes of being liked. They do it for the challenge and for their art.

Amethyst is such a film. It is independently made with the typical trappings of a low funded project. The actors are not of the highest caliber and usually the fodder for an attack review from reviewers who cannot see past their own greatness at other aspects of a film or this film in particular. Poor acting in films is a peeve of mine, but this film was different. You have a character on a mind-trip and her expressions changed like the wind. And if one is tripping, do they stop to worry with how they look or how they are acting? Hmmm...NO and in that respect Grace Klich nailed it for me. Remember how everyone gave kudos to Bryce Dallas Howard for wearing heels in Jurassic World? I give Grace major kudos for being "barefooted" throughout the film! 

Grace has an innocent naivety that transferred nicely and looked good on film. Her character has obviously never tripped before and her body and mind went through a whole different transformation in the course of her hour long trip. My favorite expression was when she dropped the purple plum and it cracked like an egg on the rocks. She looked skeptical and then she had an impish mischievous expression that I laughed out loud. It was something I would have done. It humanized her to me and I saw her more as a person and less than just another character. 

 The location was beautiful and with the masterful additions of CGI it takes the viewer on a virtual journey of colors, sights and sound. The film is dubbed a silent film with no audible dialogue. The story is placed heavily on the shoulders of the actors to portray a first trip on the hallucinogenic drug while the viewer follows. The musical score used throughout the film lends to the specifics of what is transpiring and it intensified appropriately to the scenes. 

I am not a fan of Jared Masters' films, but I did like this one. I am a lover of old silent films and although this not in the same caliber of old Hollywood, but it was a decent trial of the style. I was not bored and did not skip ahead and I did not wish it would end. I stand by my views that it is not for the general public and that's an honest assessment. I do not think I would find this film on the shelves of friends who love horror movies or even trippy films, but those who like artsy trippy Indies...take a look. You may not agree with me or even Jared but you may learn something in CGI or cinematography that you could use in your own artistic careers. 

This film is what it is a TRIP...a drugged induced mind blower and nothing about it makes sense. It doesn't have to; it wasn't meant to be understood. So do not fault someone else's trip for not making sense. Instead of looking and seeing this as a bad film, look past the prejudices of low-budget films and see the beauty of what Jared has done. He entertained this reviewer for over an hour and inspired me enough to sit down and write about it. I didn't see the need to rip it apart based on what the general horror viewer would see; I looked deeper for the positive and found it. 






 Amethyst is A Strange...Mystical...Stylish Mind Blower 
I Enjoyed the Trip. 
Char/Charred Remains Reviews